Research Institutes of CAAS
  International Students
  Expenses and Scholarships
  International Programs
  Contact Information


Founded in1957, the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS) is a national agricultural research institution undertaking China¨s agricultural research and development in both basic and applied sciences as well as new and advanced application technology. CAAS plays an important role in solving the fundamental and strategic technological issues in agriculture and rural economic development, training advanced researchers, integrating agriculture with science and technology, and developing agricultural science and technology exchanges and cooperation.

CAAS is the largest national agricultural research institution in terms of the numbers of researchers and facilities. It has the most complete set of disciplines and the most comprehensive research and development strength in the country. CAAS provides strong scientific and technical support and a positive academic atmosphere for postgraduate education with its well-developed infrastructure, sophisticated laboratories facilities, state funded key research and development projects, ample research funds, well-qualified supervising teams of senior researchers, and world-wide international cooperation and exchange programs.

The Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences consists of thirty-nine research institutes, one graduate school and one agricultural publisher with its research facilities located over 18 provinces, municipalities or autonomous regions in China. CAAS also has:

  • four national key laboratories
  • twenty-two key laboratories of the Ministry of Agriculture
  • thirty quality supervision and testing centers of the State or Ministries
  • thirteen crops improvements centers
  • three national engineering technology centers
  • one national crop germplasm bank (long term storage)
  • eleven mid-term germplasm banks and 8 crop germplasm nurseries
  • twenty-five national and ministerial key field experimental stations
  • fifty-three state or CAAS field research bases
  • ninety-eight large scale agricultural science and technology databases
  • forty-seven science and technology websites

The Graduate School of the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (GSCAAS), founded in 1979, was approved by the State Council of China in 1981 as one of the earliest degree conferral institutions for Master and Ph.D. degree. Characterized by its integration of instructional programs and the frontier research activities in the CAAS research institutes, the Graduate School of CAAS has been successfully educating a patch of highly talented agricultural scientific and technological professionals for years. GSCAAS¨ faculty and staff include two academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, nine academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, more than five hundred Ph.D. student advisors and one thousand Master¨s student advisors. The four categorical discipline areas in the Graduate School include agriculture, natural sciences, engineering and management science, covering fifteen primary disciplines in which seven are Ph.D. level primary disciplines (crop science, horticulture, plant protection, agricultural resource utilization, animal science, veterinary, and agricultural economics) and eight are Master level primary disciplines. The Graduate School of CAAS offers 44 Ph.D. programs, 8 postdoctoral research stations and 56 Master programs.

Address?The Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences 12 Zhongguancun Nandajie 100081 Beijing P.R. China
Telephone?86-10-62152115, 68918848 Fax?86-10-68975643 Website?